1. Welcome to VegasMessageBoard
    It appears you are visiting our community as a guest.
    In order to view full-size images, participate in discussions, vote in polls, etc, you will need to Log in or Register.

Downtown Grand may have finally lost me

Discussion in 'Downtown Hotels' started by mjames1229, Nov 10, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mjames1229

    mjames1229 # of visits includes only trips w/ hotel stays

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2,286
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Trips to Las Vegas:
    26
    I have been an apologist for the Downtown Grand since they opened. I stayed the first time during their "soft opening" and fell in love with the place. Going into a new experience, I loved just about everything from the rooms to the Asian restaurant to the "factory chic" look to the proximity to the other casinos (close, but not too close).

    Since then, I've gone back on numerous offers, and every time something changes, I gave it a chance. I had wanted to try the Hawaiian Ice stand, but that closed right away. The Street Dice seemed like a dumb idea, but I gave that a chance too (because if it were a hit, I could say I was on the ground floor).

    I've even posted on many DTG topics on this board, defending them, whether for ending promotions abruptly, VP paytables, for closing restaurants, to game placement, to management turnover. I didn't listen when others ripped them up; thinking that this is the "new" world and everybody hiding behind internet avatars and board names.

    Maybe y'alls were on to something. Even on that very first trip back in 2013... the property had been open for three days and nobody could tell me where the "free" coffee was, to the point that the Stewart and Ogden (as it was called then) restaurant manager walked with me to the front desk to tell her - in front of me - to stop sending guests into his restaurant for free coffee. I should have seen that as a sign, instead a shrugged it off as opening jitters.

    When they hid the table games in the former baccarat room, I kind of defended it as it gave the table game area more of a salon feel, and was a little more quiet than out on the casino floor. Being in a separate room, the music wasn't too loud and allowed for conversations with the other players and the dealers. When that experiment ended, I gave them credit for trying something different and realizing that failure can be a positive when properly channeled.

    Last year when they instituted paid parking (ostensibly so that non-casino guests didn't freeload) I said that I didn't mind as long as casino or hotel guests were easily comped from the parking. That didn't start so well, as it took me about an hour of arguing between the front desk and player services about how a comp for parking was earned, how to redeem it and the expiration date (I earned the parking comp the first day I was there, and was told to take it to the front desk at checkout. However the voucher expired the same day it was issued and the front desk initially didn't accept the expired voucher).

    My Spidey Senses were tingling, but when I got my room offer for my just completed trip, I jumped on it out of habit. The offer was for two comp nights in November (subject to availability) Last Saturday (Nov 5) would be $39 and Sunday comped, so I thought that was fair and I booked it in September. My credit card was charged $44 (which included tax).

    This past Saturday, we landed in the morning and "did Vegas". I arrived at DTG finally around midnight. I blew hundreds of dollars in the slots, then a little after 1 AM I headed to check in and go to bed. In the check in transaction, the clerk said I needed an additional $65 to check in. I showed her the printed E-mail showing $39/$0, and she called her manager. After the conversation, she said that there was nothing she could do because I'd have to talk to my host (one which I didn't know that I had, and who wasn't there at 1 AM) but I couldn't have the room without paying the additional $65.

    Frustrated (remember, a long day had been had and it was almost 1:30 AM at the time) I refused and she directed me to the Player Services department. I trudged to the cashier window, which still has a big, illuminated "PLAYER SERVICES" sign above it. The cashier none-to-pleasantly pointed me across the casino to the actual Player Services desk. I told the lady there, and she radioed for a supervisor, who walked me to the front desk clerk (sound familiar) and told her not to send any more guests "with screwed up reservations" to her.

    After another call to the front desk manager, I was allowed to stay in the room with the promise that we'll get to the bottom of it the next day.

    Sunday morning, there was no host to be found, and all I was doing was getting myself riled up again to a whole new cast of characters. I decided not to give DTG another penny on games or food that weekend (I had double booked Sunday) so when I left Sunday morning I didn't even bother going back.

    On Tuesday, my credit card was actually charged for the $65. I sent an E-mail, stating bluntly that they could reverse the charge or I'd get my bank to do it, and I got an E-mail that a credit had gone through.

    But no apology, no Sunday (as promised) conversation, no explanation to what had happened... nothing. I get hassled in the middle of the night, and I have to wait until my card is charged to get the most basic relief.

    I think I am just about done with them. My friends had lovely rooms at The D and in the remodeled section of the 4 Queens. I also did some gambling at 4Q (on Sunday as my DTG protest). I may have to look into getting into those properties going forward.

    Just venting...
     
    MJ's going to the Super Bowl (in Vegas)
    • Like Like x 4
    • Informative Informative x 2
  2. TomTWI

    TomTWI Custom Title

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Trips to Las Vegas:
    55
    Good vent I hope you feel better. I would copy your above message and send it to DTG management by snail mail stating where you posted it.

    Man that is some crappy service.

    TomTWI
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Fet297

    Fet297 108 survivor North Vegas

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    827
    Location:
    Harrisburg PA
    Trips to Las Vegas:
    21
    Sadly I'm not surprised. That property had so many opportunities to be a go to DT property but for some reason management does not get it.
     
    36th Wedding Anniversary trip
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Joe

    Joe VIP Whale

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    14,776
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Trips to Las Vegas:
    175
    I would love for them to be a destination. We love the rooms, my wife really likes the pool and their bartop VP 9/6 DDB is decent. But, they manage to f*ck something up every time we walk in there.

    Sunday morning at 10 am last month I walk to the Players Club to change my mailing address. One person working and she is also the cashier. I'm 3rd in line.
    First is a couple signing up for Player Cards. This took 15 minutes. Next up is a guy who hit the ATM, but has to go to the cashier to get the cash. This is not an exaggeration, that took another 10 minutes. I finally get to the window and get my business done. When I turn to walk away, the line is now 10 deep and most of them are waiting to redeem chips.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. bubbakitty

    bubbakitty Doing retirement again and happily so....

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    6,745
    Location:
    Texas
    Trips to Las Vegas:
    65
    You know Joe you could have at least let someone know. Boars Head staff get very very nervous when you are not there for extended periods of time. Leave a note at least.
    If all the above is true there are some abused people on vacation at DTG.
     
    Halloween vs Solidified-ween. What?
    NFL Wild Card--
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. Joe

    Joe VIP Whale

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    14,776
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Trips to Las Vegas:
    175
    LOL. Yea that was our morning to change mailing addresses at 4Q, Plaza, Binion's, GG and DTG. I know I have a card from Fitzgeralds, but since it became the D and the loud music, I didn't even bother. Same with the Plaza at 11 AM. Loud, Loud music!:thumbsdown:
     
    • Dislike Dislike x 1
  7. Big Tip

    Big Tip VIP Whale

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,242
    Location:
    Austin
    Trips to Las Vegas:
    67
    It's like a water park built a beautiful and unique water slide and are letting people ride it, but they won't turn on the water because it cost money to run. It seems so obvious but it's such a disappointment.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. merlin

    merlin MIA

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,760
    Location:
    mn
    Trips to Las Vegas:
    40
    A very sad tale, I'm not surprised though, they've been open for years now, and just dont get it.
     
  9. TFK

    TFK High-Roller

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    670
    Trips to Las Vegas:
    25
    I've had nothing but great experiences when I've stayed at the DTG.


    TFK
     
  10. Blonde_4_ever

    Blonde_4_ever LasVegas4ever.com

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,345
    Location:
    Ontario
    Trips to Las Vegas:
    40
    Wow. I would really be pissed when I had it IN WRITING, IN MY HAND, and they still would not honour it. Just wow.
     
    Soon!
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. mrstealth

    mrstealth VIP Whale

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,032
    Location:
    Midwest - Sister Bay, WI
    Trips to Las Vegas:
    62
    thanks for sharing your experience.

    The issue with the room is a fairly common one - if I interpret it correctly, you had a comped room, but, since you arrived at 1 am you never actually checked in or stayed in that room on the day of the comp. Technically, the front desk clerk was probably right, if you get a comped room, the casino wants you to check in first and then gamble. If not, you have to pay for the room. At some point when you realized you weren't going to be able to check in before midnight you probably should have called them and just told them "hey, I'm here gambling just not going to make it before midnight to check in". I still think they could have handled it differently than they did, it probably is there policy to charge for a comped room that was reserved but not checked into.

    While all of the problems you mentioned are small in and of themselves, when combined I think they show a larger "problem" going on. When it comes right down to it, a casino is about 90% customer service and virtually all of the major gaming companies realize this. It would have been very easy for the clerk to just say "No problem sir, I will just check you in now, and we will get the $65 sorted out before you check out. Just be aware in the future that if you check in after midnight ...."

    The other thing that is troubling is the fact that most of the issues can easily be solved. The free coffee - how much can that cost ? Instead of acting like an ass and walking a customer to the front desk and chewing out another employee in front of you, think if that manager would have done this "Sir, 1 second, let me get you a cup of coffee. We'd appreciate it if during your trip you'd come back and have dinner with us". How much has that cost. Other issue, Paid Parking for instance. I have no problem with them charging as parking is at a premium downtown, however, they need to provide a clear way for those that deserve free parking to receive it. For 20+ years binions had solved this issue - simply put a time clock by the cashier and punch the parking ticket to validate it.

    There have been so many changes that have occurred it seems the staff is as confused as the customers.

    I think we all agree that "word of mouth" is the best form of advertising and since the property opened many people have recommended the property to others, but unfortunately, now do to an ongoing series of blunders, that word of mouth is not going to be positive.
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2016
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  12. mjames1229

    mjames1229 # of visits includes only trips w/ hotel stays

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2,286
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Trips to Las Vegas:
    26
    I don't know if it was the 1:00 AM check in, necessarily, as most properties don't run charges until the real middle of the night. But it could have been. Wouldn't surprise me if DTG marches to its own drummer on that, too.

    However, during the conversations (especially between the front desk clerk and the player services rep), they were discussing that there were two separate data entries... one for the E-mail confirmation and one for the actual reservation system. Though the E-mail was $39/$0, the reservation had $48/$48 (and that rate, plus tax, minus what I had already paid comes to $65, so that makes sense) because apparently the reservation clerk or the host didn't put the same info in both places.

    I did put a version of my (above) post in their E-mail survey, but I will make sure I send it in a letter, too.

    I really like the place... except for the hassles!
     
    MJ's going to the Super Bowl (in Vegas)
  13. Multifarious5

    Multifarious5 VIP Whale

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    3,387
    Location:
    west coast
    Trips to Las Vegas:
    17
    I am so sorry for such a fiasco. The worst sign of the whole event is that the staff had no problem complaining in front of you...that is a sign of massively burned out staff, and a sign the "engine is running without oil".

    We had an old haunt start glitching like this, nickel and diming, and with the staff being openly burned out. We gave them one more shot this spring out of loyalty, another bad experience, and finally we just decided to focus on other properties.

    My two cents is that once the staff is this open about discontent, it's just the tip of the iceberg on some major issues.....steer clear for a bit. :(
     
    First time in Tahoe!!!
    Mother-Daughter trip-Tower Suite (roll away for me!)
  14. Electroguy563

    Electroguy563 Over-Fried Gambler

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,111
    Trips to Las Vegas:
    20
    Maybe the after midnight check in might have complicated things but still yet, I think they (DTG) handled this very poorly. They should have given you your room and work out the kinks later.

    Can't believe they did this to you. Wow!
     
  15. FullPay

    FullPay When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,812
    Location:
    Derby City, Kentucky
    Trips to Las Vegas:
    110
    I've been wanting to love this place since it opened, mostly because I really loved the Lady Luck. Started with easy comps, nice rooms and pool. But then terrible service at S & O. Decent video poker at the bar, terrible service at the slot club. Constantly changing the casino. Seems like a collection of departments instead of a property. Those customer service issues arise when an employee finally understands a new rule but isn't versed enough to explain it to the customer. We used to call that "there's no reason for it, sir, it's just policy."
     
    Laughlin! I
  16. tringlomane

    tringlomane STP Addicted Beer Snob

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    19,729
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Trips to Las Vegas:
    22
    I don't mind the place as it's where one of my best Vegas VP hits came from, and they have some good beers on tap now at the Furnace Bar, but whenever I go, it looks like a graveyard. I wonder what the hotel occupancy rate even is...
     
  17. Big Tip

    Big Tip VIP Whale

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,242
    Location:
    Austin
    Trips to Las Vegas:
    67
    Really? Well that's some progress. The initial beer choices were very indicative of the property's problems. They opened with very unimaginative and limited tap beer choices. Who doesn't know that this is an important thing in this day and age?
     
  18. merlin

    merlin MIA

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,760
    Location:
    mn
    Trips to Las Vegas:
    40
    Well run places dont have these problems, notice you never hear someone say "the cal or the el-cortez, or the nugget, screwed up my reservation", it's only the places that typically cant get anything right, bad reservation system, bad hotel mgmt, bad cocktail service, poorly run casinos, etc, etc.
     
  19. blissfulignoramus

    blissfulignoramus Low-Roller

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Pennsyltucky
    Trips to Las Vegas:
    30
    DTG is truly an enigma, with its combination of getting things right and absolutely wrong, adrift as it tries one thing and then another, but never going in directions that capitalize on their strengths, or the market within which they operate.

    What I liked about the place from the first time I went there was the people working there. Well, with the exception of a certain guy in the sports book... Anyway, it's disappointing to hear that they delivered so poorly on the customer service front. Without that, they don't have anything to attract people away from other DT hotels. You can get a great room for less somewhere else. You can get better gambling odds somewhere else. You can get a better vibe virtually everywhere else. Figure this stuff out, DTG.
     
  20. ruralhipster

    ruralhipster High-Roller

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    503
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    Trips to Las Vegas:
    20
    Was at the soft opening as well. I really liked the the property but after giving them good play no offers came. Now the offers I get like 10 dollar FP only justify a stop if I'm on my way from the Cabana Suites to The Cal. I used to make a detour to grab a slice at Pizza Rock and a beer at the Furnace bar while playing VP but even that isn't worthwhile anymore.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.