1. Welcome to VegasMessageBoard
    It appears you are visiting our community as a guest.
    In order to view full-size images, participate in discussions, vote in polls, etc, you will need to Log in or Register.

New To Sports Betting

Discussion in 'The Sports Book' started by AnabelleT, May 2, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AnabelleT

AnabelleT Tourist

Trips to Las Vegas:
    I'm totally new to sports betting, but I'm interested in making some bets during the World Cup starting in June. My mom is French and we grew up with soccer in the house. I don't follow sports in general, but I always watch the world cup every four years (and the Olympics). I have an online account where I can make sports bets, but can any of you give me any tips on the best way to approach sports betting? I'm thinking of just betting on who will win on individual games but I see there are other bets that can be made. Thank you so much for any help!

2. tipdrill

tipdrill Low-Roller

Trips to Las Vegas:
    This may sound cliche', but you gotta do your homework. Only bet the sports you honestly can tell yourself you know the best and never bet based on your heart (favorite team). Soccer I would imagine is like hockey, low U/O and 1 goal spreads.

Parlays: Win based on multiple events for a better payout. ex. You bet team A, B, and C will win. You only get paid out if all 3 win; nothing for 2 or 1 winning.

3. DeMoN2318

DeMoN2318 The DERS

Trips to Las Vegas:
    Sports betting is an art...and I am not artistic

4. Travel Fanatic

Travel Fanatic The Arbiter of Taste Caviar Kid

Trips to Las Vegas:
    Personally, I wouldn't worry so much about doing your homework. Sounds like you're making these bets to have a little fun, so go with the teams you like and don't waste time studying up (unless you enjoy that kind of studying).