1. Welcome to VegasMessageBoard
    It appears you are visiting our community as a guest.
    In order to view full-size images, participate in discussions, vote in polls, etc, you will need to Log in or Register.

FIRST Trip, 20th Anniversary, June 2012

Discussion in 'Vegas Trip Reports' started by carlyzmom, Jun 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. carlyzmom

carlyzmom Tourist

Trips to Las Vegas:

My Trip Report

Alrighty, this is my first attempt at a trip report. I'm an enthusiastic newbie to Vegas - actually a convert now!

Background: Me, 40 yrs old and an RN. Husband, 44 yrs old and an IT Manager. Married for 20 years this June! We wanted to give Vegas a try. Always talked about it, but never seemed to fit it in.

Friday, June 15: Drove to Houston (100 miles from home) and stayed at Hampton Inn by Hobby Airport. Had a free night. We love Hampton Inns. Nice, clean, free breakfast. Had a nice dinner at TGI Fridays. Went back and TRIED to sleep. I was SOOO excited!

Saturday, June 16: Woke up (after tossing and turning) at 4:45 am. Got dressed, grabbed coffee and went to park the car. Flight left at 7:45 am. Nice, uneventful flight. Because of time change, we arrived at McCarran at 8:45 am!! Bonus!! I was surprised to see the Strip from the tarmac. I wasn't expecting that! I never realized it was so close.

Took a cab to the Bellagio. Check in was quick and easy. Thanks to these helpful boards, I tried the $20 trick! That, combined with our 20th anniversary/first trip got us a complimentary upgrade from a Resort Deluxe to a Jr. Suite with a fountain/Strip view!!! SCORE! :beer: I asked when we needed to check back for our room and she said it was ready!! So, we were in our room by 9:30 am! That was a nice surprise!