1. Welcome to VegasMessageBoard
    It appears you are visiting our community as a guest.
    In order to view full-size images, participate in discussions, vote in polls, etc, you will need to Log in or Register.

Table Games Come Bets vs. Place Bets

Discussion in 'Table Games' started by elnoke, Mar 28, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. elnoke

elnoke Tourist

Trips to Las Vegas:
    Hi Everyone,

Long time lurker who has enjoyed this site for about a year. First thread started... Going back to Vegas in May and want my Craps game in top form.

I have been playing craps for a few years and have a pretty good basic understanding but one question has me scratching my head. Do you prefer Come bets or Place bets? Is one better than the other?

Here is my thinking... I'll use 6/8 as an example, I'll use dollar amounts that are easy to calculate:

1. $60 place bets wins $70.
    2. $10 come bet + $50 full odds ($60 total) wins $10 for come and $60 for odds = $70 total.

By my thinking, same amount ($60) wagered and same amount won ($70).

For 5+9, $50 place wins $70. $10 come + $40 odds wins $10 + $60 = $70.

I generally buy 4 and 10 if I want to play those numbers.

To me, place bet is better because number only has to be hit once and not twice to win like a come bet. And on Come Out roll, $10 of come bet is at risk while $0 of place bet is at risk.

Do I have a calculation wrong or I am missing something?? I am always wanting to learn something new and I appreciate any advice. I apologize if this discussion has been beat to death.

Thanks in advance for your help.

2. h_upmann

h_upmann Low-Roller

Trips to Las Vegas:
    I'd say what you're missing is that, when the 7 comes, you win your current come bet and lose all earlier ones (including odds).
    You lose all place bets when a 7 is rolled.

I prefer placing 6 and 8 to come bets. I can live with the slightly higher house advantage.