1. Welcome to VegasMessageBoard
    It appears you are visiting our community as a guest.
    In order to view full-size images, participate in discussions, vote in polls, etc, you will need to Log in or Register.

Vegas residents: Do you have kids in High School?

Discussion in 'Living in Sin (City that is)' started by trig, Nov 12, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trig

trig Low-Roller

Trips to Las Vegas:
    Wifey and I are considering moving to Vegas from SC. We'll rent for a year before buying. We have a sophomore in HS, so I'd like your thoughts on the the HS your kid(s) are attending to give us an idea of the area(s) we should be looking at for rentals. 3/2 1800hsf with garage are minimums. $1000-1400/month.

If you need more info from me, please ask. Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you!

2. VegasSchemer

VegasSchemer VIP Whale

Trips to Las Vegas:
    I am actually a HS teacher in Las Vegas. Generally speaking, you want to be in Henderson, the Southwest, Summerlin or Centennial Heights.

There are some exceptions, however, when it comes to cheaper areas of town (which tend to be poorer and bring along all the problems associated with poorer areas) and good schools. Las Vegas High School does well despite being on the Eastside. In a sense, the good schools are found within an "L" that goes from the Northwestern peak of the city down to the Southwestern corner and then East to Henderson.

3. Joe

Joe VIP Whale

Trips to Las Vegas:
    All I can say as a former resident is think long and hard before you pull the trigger on a move. This report is from April 2014:

Although the average graduation rate nationally hit a record high of 80 percent in 2012, Nevada had the lowest rate in the country at 63 percent, according to a report released today.

http://www.lasvegassun.com/news/2014/apr/28/nevadas-high-school-graduation-rate-worst-nation/