1. Welcome to VegasMessageBoard
    It appears you are visiting our community as a guest.
    In order to view full-size images, participate in discussions, vote in polls, etc, you will need to Log in or Register.

Just applied for graduation

Discussion in 'Non-Vegas Chat' started by sporty8705, Aug 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sporty8705

sporty8705 VIP Whale

Trips to Las Vegas:
    I am finally going to graduate in March!
    I will have my BS in Human Development and Family Sciences, only 8 years after I graduated high school.
    I had literally signed my letter of intent with the UC here and put down a deposit, went home, had a lil fun :evillaugh and two weeks later I was like oh shit Im pregnant.. had tried for YEARS and it never happened.. and so then I had to take a year off, etc. I went to school when my son was 10 weeks old and went to the Cal State here and almost never went to class, because I missed him too much.. so I had to go the online route and haven't missed anything or gotten lower than a B really.. It takes dedication and effort..

about time, not easy to do as a single mom and working too!

Last edited: Aug 18, 2013
  2. grosx2

grosx2 Have fun storming the castle!

Trips to Las Vegas:
    Good for you, I've heard numerous single mothers trot out excuse after excuse on why they can't pursue and complete a degree. Well done.

3. sporty8705

sporty8705 VIP Whale

Trips to Las Vegas:
    Thanks, I see friends out there who are married with a child and stay home and can't get it done even with support.. I had a bit of support from my family and it made all the difference.

4. smartone

smartone VIP Whale

Trips to Las Vegas:
    WOW!!! Congratulations!!!! The degree will serve you well, but IMHO what will serve you equally as well, if not more so, is the kind of determination and perseverance you've undoubtably displayed the past several years in maintaining focus!!! Not all can do that... GOOD FOR YOU!!!!