1. Welcome to VegasMessageBoard
    It appears you are visiting our community as a guest.
    In order to view full-size images, participate in discussions, vote in polls, etc, you will need to Log in or Register.

Video Poker VP Strategy table question

Discussion in 'Video Poker' started by fenway68, Mar 26, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fenway68

fenway68 VIP Whale

Trips to Las Vegas:
    I have always been curious about the answer to this; ever since I started learning some VP strategies, there has been something nagging about this table, even though I do not play deuces wild anymore, I thought I'd ask.

IN WoO strategy table, #23 under "0" dueces is listed as Garbage, discard everything....yet there is a #24,25 and 26

http://wizardofodds.com/games/video-poker/strategy/deuces-wild/full-pay/optimal/

If you are supposed to play the highest on the list, when would you ever play 24,25, or 26...if never, why list them at all? I love math (if that's behind the explanation) so, explain away.....

signed,
    just curious (aka Fenway68, aka Scott)!

2. vetsen

vetsen Low-Roller

Trips to Las Vegas:
    Discard Everything has a higher overall average payback than the hands listed below it, which is why it's listed higher than the other hands.

However, there are hands with specific card combinations which give the other choices a higher value at times than holding nothing.

For example, in deuces wild, it is generally better to hold nothing than it is to hold a suited 87, so hold nothing is listed higher. But, when there are no flush or straight penalties in the hand with s87, s87 is the better hold than to toss everything.

Hope that makes sense.

3. tringlomane

tringlomane STP Addicted Beer Snob

Trips to Las Vegas: