1. Welcome to VegasMessageBoard
    It appears you are visiting our community as a guest.
    In order to view full-size images, participate in discussions, vote in polls, etc, you will need to Log in or Register.

Total Rewards RC Question

Discussion in 'Comps' started by Badger31, Jul 25, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Badger31

Badger31 Low-Roller

Trips to Las Vegas:
    I have about $220 in RC's. I've read that it's better to pay with your TR card so you don't pay tax rather than charge to your room.

Two Questions:
    1. Wife and I are doing a couples massage ($350). Can I pay $220 with my RC's and charge the rest to my room?
    2. After my RC's are gone from the massage, charging to my room and paying on the spot (cash or CC) are really the same thing, right? Since I'm paying tax either way.

Sorry if these questions are dumb...I've never used RC's before. Thanks.

2. meyers67

meyers67 High-Roller

Trips to Las Vegas:
    I'm not sure if massages are taxed, but as a general rule you should pay with your RCs only if you are able to pay for the entire bill. If you can't pay for the entire amount, charge it to your room.

3. Peachiekeehn

Peachiekeehn High-Roller

Trips to Las Vegas:
    We had dinner at GR Steak with our $100 Diamond celebration coupon. They applied the $100 first and we charged the rest to our room and were only taxed on the balance. It's up to you whether or not you pay the balance there and then with credit card or charge to the room. The only difference would be if you were to build up more reward credits and/or gambled enough to get some of your charges comped at the end of your stay. They can't comp things you've already paid for.

4. tringlomane

tringlomane STP Addicted Beer Snob

Trips to Las Vegas:
    FYI, tax isn't always forgiven at CET properties. I know it isn't at the Quad. I think it is at Paris/Bally's/PHo Not sure about Flamingo though. Maybe someone else can verify.