1. Welcome to VegasMessageBoard
    It appears you are visiting our community as a guest.
    In order to view full-size images, participate in discussions, vote in polls, etc, you will need to Log in or Register.

Tipping Housekeeping?

Discussion in 'Misc. Vegas Chat' started by lmking1224, Jul 5, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lmking1224

lmking1224 Low-Roller

Trips to Las Vegas:
    Do you guys tip housekeeping? I haven't tipped in any hotel I've ever stayed in, and now I feel guilty. It's not that I'm cheap -- I always tip waitresses and bartenders 25% if they are decent, since I used to work in the service industry -- it's that I really didn't know this was a thing.

Now that I've read that others tip housekeeping, I am embarrassed that I haven't done so.

That said, we do put the "DND" sign on the door and just ask for extra towels, since I feel weird having someone in our room when all of our "stuff" is in there...it's not even about stealing, it just feels strange...

But I suppose I should be tipping housekeeping when I leave?

I'm very embarrassed for being a "cheapskate."

Do you tip housekeeping? If so, how much?

2. vwhiten

vwhiten High-Roller

Trips to Las Vegas:
    We tip housekeeping $5 a day - Some times we keep the DND sign out- the next day if we want housekeeping to clean we leave $5 - we don't double up for the day we had them skip us. I also pick up after myself and tidy the room. If you stay a couple of days and don't use housekeeping I would tip $5 when I leave if they haven't been in the room -- I have walked by some rooms when they have the door open -- Some people are huge pigs/sloths -- I feel sorry for those housekeepers.

Val

36th Wedding Anniversary
  3. lmking1224

lmking1224 Low-Roller

Trips to Las Vegas:
    Thanks for your response!