1. Welcome to VegasMessageBoard
    It appears you are visiting our community as a guest.
    In order to view full-size images, participate in discussions, vote in polls, etc, you will need to Log in or Register.

Southwest 1st time flier....

Discussion in 'Getting There & Getting Around' started by CaliMike, Oct 6, 2016.

1. CaliMike

CaliMike Low-Roller

Trips to Las Vegas:
    I'm flying on Southwest for the first time to Vegas. I will leave on a Wednesday and return on a Saturday for a quick trip. I'll be flying from Burbank. Since this is my first time flying on Southwest, is there any tips or info of what to expect. I read about the cattle call. I will be traveling with another person. I read about the 24 hr check in before the flight. Usually what boarding position will that get you? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

2. 93 Octane

93 Octane Low-Roller

Trips to Las Vegas:
    Always buy the early bird for best chance getting your preferred seat(s) and I've never not done 24 hour check in so can't help on what happens if you don't... my experience is the earlier your tickets are purchased the better your boarding position

My goal is to not stay sober
    Here I come Aloha Specialties
  3. nostresshere

nostresshere Mr. Anti Debit Card

Trips to Las Vegas:
    Be at your computer or phone a few minutes before the 24 hrs ready to checkin. It will usually get you at least middle of the pack, but it varies widely. You will get a seat, no problem but may not be together, or could be a middle. For such a short flight, you will be fine.

Other than that, easy stuff. They explain the boarding process at the gate. You will see signs with your boarding number. It works very well.

4. eaglejohn

eaglejohn High-Roller

Trips to Las Vegas:
    I would not bother with early boarding pass for a quick flight from Cal. Really doesn't matter where you sit for that short a flight. As above, just check in 24 hours ahead. Boarding process is easy.

• Agree Agree x 3