1. Welcome to VegasMessageBoard
    It appears you are visiting our community as a guest.
    In order to view full-size images, participate in discussions, vote in polls, etc, you will need to Log in or Register.

Semi non geek netbook help needed

Discussion in 'Non-Vegas Chat' started by Joe, Aug 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Joe

Joe VIP Whale

Trips to Las Vegas:
    I have some computer knowledge and compared to my older brothers, I'm a rocket scientist, but I need help.

One of my older brothers, (73) bought a Netbook because his 8 yr old laptop is on it's last legs. I admire that my 3 older brothers try to keep up with technology and I can usually help solve their problems, but I'm stuck on this one.

Now he wants to know how to 1st- copy MS Office onto the Netbook, since it has no cd/dvd drive. He has the original disks & license #. The laptop cd/dvd player is still working.

2nd, how to create restore disks for the new Netbook, I don't own a Netbook, so I need help.

Both the laptop & netbook are connected to his in-house wireless router.

My only thought was to buy an external optical drive and you could load from and/or copy to the external drive to use that to load and restore.

Any advice or easier way w/o buying ext drive to do this that I'm missing, would be helpful.

Christmas
    My wife's birthday
  2. leo21

leo21 VIP Whale

Trips to Las Vegas:
    You should be able to download Office if it's not already on there and use the existing license # to authorize it. There should be an option to do that on the MS site for Netbook owners and for people who lost their original disc.

As for a restore option I'm not as clear. I wonder if it can be done using a USB drive.

3. MisterJJ

MisterJJ Low-Roller

Trips to Las Vegas:
    He should probably buy an external DVD drive. He'll likely use it in the future too. You can find them for under $35 on Amazon.