1. Welcome to VegasMessageBoard
    It appears you are visiting our community as a guest.
    In order to view full-size images, participate in discussions, vote in polls, etc, you will need to Log in or Register.

Paying for meals: Charge to room or use RC?

Discussion in 'Misc. Vegas Chat' started by dfalk, Sep 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dfalk

dfalk VIP Whale

Trips to Las Vegas:
    I've never used comps before to pay for meals, so I'm sure the best way to do it. I have about $75 in Total Reward credits to use for my upcoming trip. Is it better to just charge everything to my room and pay for it all at the end? Or is it easier to just pay for each meal by having them swipe my card?

I guess my biggest concern is tipping, if I charge it to my room do I still need to leave a trip at the restaurant or will the tip get charged to my room as well?

If I pay at the time with RC can you use your RC to tip as well or do you have to use cash for that?

2. dbueler

dbueler High-Roller

Trips to Las Vegas:
    You can't use TR points for tips, if you charge the meal to your room and add a tip, you will have a cash balance to pay equal to the amount of the tips.

I prefer to pay for meals with RC's at the restaurant as, at least for now, they do not charge tax for comped meals. For example, if your meal is $20 and the tax is $2, if you pay for your meal at the restaurant using RC's, they only take $20 in RC's. If you charge the meal to your room, they will use $22 in RC's. To me, that makes it a no brainer to make my points last longer!

You can also use coupons, like a 2-4-1 or $5 off, then pay the balance with points. Makes those RC's stretch!

I recommend you have them swipe your card at each restaurant and leave a cash tip. Saves the tax dollars and eliminates tip charges on your bill.

Have a great trip!
    diane

3. Auggie

Auggie Dovahkiin

Trips to Las Vegas: