1. Welcome to VegasMessageBoard
    It appears you are visiting our community as a guest.
    In order to view full-size images, participate in discussions, vote in polls, etc, you will need to Log in or Register.

Getting a discounted room for a friend?

Discussion in 'Comps' started by mrem3200, Dec 15, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mrem3200

mrem3200 High-Roller

Trips to Las Vegas:
    I am new to the whole host thing so apologies if this is a stupid question. I was assigned a host after my last trip so I have zero relationship with him, just one phone call and a few e-mails. My normal offers (I am a CET guy) are for up to 5 nights comped in a standard room and some free play and resort credit (last trip was $250 FP and $100 RC). So I am planning my next trip and will be going for 3 nights, which the host told me would be comped and he would let me know about free play/resort credit once the dates were nailed down (I am not entirely sure why the dates matter for that but whatever). The friend that I am going with may go a day before me. So my question is, can my host give my friend a deal on the room for the first night of our trip, the one that I won't be there for. Well, I know he CAN, the question is can he do it without costing me any of my comps?

I know it is not a lot of money but a $20 (or whatever) discount on the room could be enough to factor into my friends decision about going a day early or not. He is a $5-$10 per hand BJ player so not going to get any love based on his play.

I know I could ask my host but A) he is off today and tomorrow and B) I don't want to come across as a needy dick asking for something for my friend in one of my first conversations with him. On the other hand if you don't ask you don't get...

Any thoughts are appreciated.

2. Auggie

Auggie Dovahkiin

Trips to Las Vegas:
    The dates matter because they try to give you comps up front that will be equal to what they expect you to earn on the trip.