1. Welcome to VegasMessageBoard
    It appears you are visiting our community as a guest.
    In order to view full-size images, participate in discussions, vote in polls, etc, you will need to Log in or Register.

Comped Tips?

Discussion in 'Comps' started by allnetmom, Dec 19, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. allnetmom

allnetmom Tourist

Trips to Las Vegas:
    Hi, I am new to being comped and having a host. At the MGM they comped our stay at the backend of our trip and said some tips might show up on our credit card. None ever showed up--did the servers at the restaurants get tipped what we left them?

We are wondering how this works, the check out host at Peppermill in Reno also said tips are not included when we checked out....but they never appeared on our statement.

Should we leave tips in cash? I am confused about how this works...

2. dankyone

dankyone VIP Whale

Trips to Las Vegas:
    The official line is always that tips cannot be comped. However, twice, after particularly heavy play and bad losses, absolutely nothing was charged to my card after stays at the Mirage (years ago.)

My understanding is that the servers would in fact receive the tips signed to the room and this is an unspoken gesture from the host like a cash/airfare reimbursement when you have plenty of room for additional discretionary comps after a large loss.

3. paperposter

paperposter VIP Whale

Trips to Las Vegas:
    it should show up .i also belive they put a minimal hold on your c card when you check in for incedentals it might come out of that usulay 150-250$

i always charge everything to the room so the host can comp it off,tips are not compable.

check pending charges

4. nostresshere

nostresshere Mr. Anti Debit Card

Trips to Las Vegas:
    Tips are often referred to as HARD comps. And, unless you are a big spender and/or drop well over $10k - you will still pay for tips.

As to the server getting the tip, yes they will still get their tip.