1. Welcome to VegasMessageBoard
    It appears you are visiting our community as a guest.
    In order to view full-size images, participate in discussions, vote in polls, etc, you will need to Log in or Register.

Buying In Canyon Gate ... Good or Bad Idea?

Discussion in 'Living in Sin (City that is)' started by aremel, Aug 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aremel

aremel Low-Roller

Trips to Las Vegas:
    So .. I wonder ... is buying a single family home in the area called Canyongate a good idea? There seem to be some nice homes there. I wonder if any locals would help with their opinions based on area knowledge ... Thank You in advance for any help given ...

BR

Last edited: Aug 10, 2012
  2. vegasbound

vegasbound Moderator

I assume you're talking Canyon Gate near the Lakes, 89117. I have no personal experience, but it is known to be a nice area. Property values vary widely. As long as the foreclosures haven't bought about an undesirable element it should be a-ok. I'd run any address that is to be considered in LVMPD crimemapper. There are several restaurants in the area that I frequent. Not terribly far from 215 or Summerlin Pkwy so much of the valley is conveniently accessible.

3. aremel

aremel Low-Roller

Trips to Las Vegas:
    Vegasbound,

Thank You for the reply ... Yes 89117 is the correct zip. I found a nice home on 7 Acres +/- in the O'Bannon & S Valadez area. I noticed 4 or 5 Burglaries in the general area, but I didn't see any violence against persons at the LVMPD Crime Mapper. So I guess it is a good place to consider. I appreciate the input.

By the way .. Which Restaurants do you frequent in the area ... maybe I could spring for Dinner for you and the Mrs. when I get there. You seem like a good person to know, and one cannot have too many friends in a new town.

Thanks again,

BR

4. Foos

Foos Low-Roller

Trips to Las Vegas: