1. Welcome to VegasMessageBoard
    It appears you are visiting our community as a guest.
    In order to view full-size images, participate in discussions, vote in polls, etc, you will need to Log in or Register.

Best Credit Card for Airline Miles

Discussion in 'Non-Vegas Chat' started by ValerieJo, Oct 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ValerieJo

ValerieJo Low-Roller

Trips to Las Vegas:
    I work as a buyer and have been told I can do much of the purchasing on a credit card of my choosing if I'd like.

I thought I would get a card that would get the most bang for my buck and would like to have airline miles attached to it.

I'm thinking a Southwest Airlines card, but would another one give me better points/miles?

Let me know your thoughts and experiences.

Thanks so much. :beer:

First time at 4 Queens
  2. saintpauljeff

saintpauljeff VIP Whale

Trips to Las Vegas:
    here's a pretty good list

3. Joe

Joe VIP Whale

Trips to Las Vegas:
    Wait for the Southwest 50,000 mile offer. It comes up every few months, sometimes free for the 1st year, sometimes with an annual fee. Either way, it's a pretty good deal. Sigh up for the card and after you charge $1,000 within 90 days, they drop 50,000 miles into your SWA account.

My wife and I have done it twice each in the last 3 years. We get them, we cancel after getting the miles, then wait for the next offer. Waiting for my wife's miles to be deposited and we'll cancel hers again.

Differing opinions on whether getting & cancelling hurts your credit score by a significant amount.

I don't know if it's the best card offer, but since we fly almost exclusively SWA, it works for us. YMMV.

Christmas
  4. Joe

Joe VIP Whale

Trips to Las Vegas:
    I see SWA doesn't even show up on the list Jman posted. I don't know if SWA is a bad deal or more related to SWA doing everything in-house? Such as you can't book them on Travelocity Expedia etc, only on their site.
    Anyway, it works for us.