1. Welcome to VegasMessageBoard
    It appears you are visiting our community as a guest.
    In order to view full-size images, participate in discussions, vote in polls, etc, you will need to Log in or Register.

Restaurant that left you disappointed

Discussion in 'Restaurants & Buffets' started by duoglide, Jun 25, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. duoglide

duoglide Tourist

Trips to Las Vegas:
    Like many, I'm always reading up on places to eat for my Vegas trips.

There's a great thread about best meals and that got me wondering: what is the place that you were excited to try but left disappointed?

I'm not looking for food court places but big restaurants on the strip that came with high expectations but didn't live up to the anticipation.

2. thecarve

thecarve Misanthrope

Trips to Las Vegas:
    Heritage Steak at Mirage.

In the past, I’ve had some excellent experiences at Colicchio’s other steak joint, Craftsteak at MGM*. So I had high hopes for this one as well. And things started great. Great cocktail, great appetizer and one of the best sides I’ve eaten (Brussels sprouts). But the steak(s) were terrible. The first one was well done (I ordered rare). The replacement was probably medium well – not even close to rare. I didn't send this one back as I was sitting there with a side getting cold and I didn't want to wait all night for them to finally get their act together. Of course, the steak – ribeye - was so thin (1/2” at most) there would be no possible way to get it anywhere close to rare or medium rare. And the temp wasn’t the only thing wrong with the steak. It had that “lighter fluid” taste that bad weekend grillers get on their steak from flare ups. And other than that, there wasn’t much flavor to it at all.