1. Welcome to VegasMessageBoard
    It appears you are visiting our community as a guest.
    In order to view full-size images, participate in discussions, vote in polls, etc, you will need to Log in or Register.

Avis Car Rental

Discussion in 'Getting There & Getting Around' started by kjonly, May 18, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kjonly

kjonly Tourist

Trips to Las Vegas:
    Just booked a 7 day rental through Costco with Avis. I have always used Budget in the past and had no problems. I have never used Avis and this is my first time booking through Costco. I got a better price through Avis and I signed up for Avis Preferred which looks like allows me to skip the counter. A few questions:

How is everyone's experience with Avis in regards to quality of cars, customer service, hard upsells on coverages, etc...? I am not familiar with Avis at all. Are they considered a major company or a discount like Fox?

Since I booked through Costco, do I still get to skip the counter with my Avis Preferred? I did put my Wizard Number in while completing the reservation, but when I go to the Avis website I can only pull the reservation up with the confirmation number. (If I go to future rentals under My Account it says no future rentals)

How does Avis compare to Budget?

2. DowntownDiva

DowntownDiva Tourist

Trips to Las Vegas:
    If you're using Avis Preferred, there's no up-sell, since you shouldn't even speak to an agent. This does require you to choose your preferences on your profile (fake insurance, GPS, Child Seat, return full or pre-pay gas, etc.), but I've never had a serious problem with upselling even at the counter. As with all things like this: Know what you want, READ and confirm your documentation and ensure that it says what you think it says.