PDA

View Full Version : do you need to take out earrings for airport security

user3657
04-02-2011, 02:10 AM
i recently got my ears pierced....Do I need to remove them? I am not very good at putting them back in with out a mirror.

user3657
04-02-2011, 02:12 AM
or, really my question is if I do wear them and the beeper goes off, does that mean I will get searched? I dont care if they wave the wond and figure out what made it beep, but I dont want to have to get searched and stuff.

MTMONGO
04-02-2011, 06:01 AM
No you do not need to remove them. My wife has never had a problem with her body jewelry.:D

LadyRose
04-02-2011, 11:15 AM
Last time I went thru they asked me if i had earrings on. But I didnt sorry. Not sure if I would need to remove them.

HoyaHeel
04-02-2011, 12:14 PM
You can set the sensitivity of scanners. After 9/11, that sensitivity was increased. Which is why I now take off all my jewelry (whereas before I never did). I haven't set any off since I started doing that - and I usually am wearing metal underwire bras. Other women say their bras set off scanners all the time - and I wonder if it's because they have their jewelry on as well -therefore the cumulative effect is stronger than for me.

My advice would be - if you're going to leave your earrings in, make sure you remove all other metal if possible.

As for the scanning, wanding, searching- hard to say what will happen because no matter what the regulations are, they are interpreted differently by different TSA agents at different airports:peace:

jman
04-02-2011, 01:11 PM
No you do not need to remove them. My wife has never had a problem with her body jewelry.:D

:thumbsup:

budroux2w
04-02-2011, 02:08 PM
If they are gold it will not set off the detectors.

Royal Flusher
04-02-2011, 06:00 PM
i recently got my ears pierced....Do I need to remove them? I am not very good at putting them back in with out a mirror.

No, your ears should be just fine where they are.

luvlv
04-02-2011, 06:03 PM